Tullah is placed on the shores of peaceful Lake Rosebery and sits beneath Mt Farrell, a 712 metre mountain, often shrouded in mist. Mining ceased in 1974 but two years later, the Hydro Electric Commission built over 250 dwellings to house employees working on local power schemes.
Until the early 1960's the only access to Tullah (other than by foot or horse) was by a siding off the Emu Bay Railway. The "Wee Georgie Wood" steam locomotive reenacts this journey in a popular 1.6 km train ride that departs from the middle of town.
Tullah is a tranquil base for:
- Fishing or exploring the lake by boat.
- Shopping for a wealth of hand-crafted artifacts such as bowls, platters, clocks, and vases made from huon pine, sassafras or Tasmanian oak.
- Enjoying a wilderness walk, or mountain bike across the surrounding hills while taking in the wonderful views across to the distant peaks of the western wilderness.
Please click for entire article: Off The Beaten track extract - Narrow Gauge Downunder
Mineral Display and Prospectors Scratch Patch (sponsored by the Tullah Progress Association.) Gems, Local Arts, crafts and produce for sale. Café serving light meals. Located at the Tullah Hotel, Murchison Highway.� Gold coin donation. More...
Wee Georgie Wood Steam Railway
Experience how the pioneers miners used to travel into Tullah on this journey that departs from the centre of the town.
Hydro Tasmania Tullah Challenge Triathlon - run, paddle and bike around Tullah
held annually in November.
A private home displaying a collection of hand made bears, some of which are for sale. Open most days 9am - 5pm. Closed Christmas Day and Good Friday.
Targa races through Tullah every April/May.
- Bus from Hobart or Burnie:
Tassielink Coaches - Tullah/Rosebery/Zeehan/Queenstown/Strahan.
Tel: 1300 300 520, Fax: (03) 6231 6090.
Email: firstname.lastname@example.org www.tassielink.com.au
- Road (self drive):
From Burnie take the B18 Murchison Highway
From Hobart take the Lyell Highway
- Closest Town
Rosebery 14km (11mins)